I Mention Aliens Again. 

Last night I found myself in a room full of wizards. Not just ordinary wizards either (if there even is such a thing!), but wizards who love writing as much as I do. I was surrounded by what, by all counts, should have been my people, and yet I felt completely alone. 

I should explain that I was at an event called the House Cup for NaNoWriMo, which is a challenge that many writers decide to participate in every November where we strive to write 50,000 words in just 30 days. It is madness, but it is beautiful madness and I love it. 

And yet, I felt like I was on the outside. Again. Im not necessarily complaining about this, I’ve always felt a little on the outside of things, like an alien even among people I called my friends (2 for 2 with mentioning aliens over here, I consider that a win!).  

I think my brain just works differently than most people. It takes a route that maybe other’s aren’t programmed to follow. I remember even as a kid I would say something or make a joke and my dad would ask “why do you think like that?” The answer is, I have no effing clue. But maybe that’s okay, maybe that’s what will make me unique or set me apart from the masses or allow me to write oddly personal things on the Internet for strangers to relate to or judge! 

Either way, I know I can’t be the only one that feels like they’re alone in a crowded room. I can’t be the only one that hangs out with people they like or do something fun and enjoy it, but still sometimes feel a little bit alien. And if I’m right, then that means you aren’t alone either. Which is awesome…let’s be weird together. 

2 thoughts on “I Mention Aliens Again. 

Leave a Reply

